Handgun courses including concealed handgun (CHL) training, CHL renewals and basic pistol instruction.
We offer personal instruction from beginner to advanced. Share your goals with us and we will tailor a class to your needs. All classes are taught by experienced and certified instructors.
Private Instruction $50 per hour
Concealed Handgun License (CHL) Course & Renewals
We offer state approved CHL classes for concealed handgun licensing and renewals. Both classroom instructor and range qualification occur at the same facility.
$125.00 – CHL License
$ 70.00 – CHL Renewal
This fee is in addition to the application fee of $140 that must be sent to the Texas Department of Public Safety (TxDPS) (the fee is $70 for renewals).
This course provides the classroom and range time required by the TxDPS and includes the following:
- Class Materials
- Classroom Instruction
- Range Qualification
In addition, everyone attending the class will receive a complimentary one-day range pass for use at The Shooting Gallery!
There is now an on-line option for the application or renewal of your CHL. Applying on-line will speed up the process of getting your license or you may choose to fill out a paper application and mail it in. You can apply on-line at www.texasonline.state.tx.us
As of March 11, 2011, the State of Texas requires the submission of electronic fingerprints as a part of the application process. The State approved vendor is L-1 Enrollment Services. You can visit their website at www.l1enrollment.com to find the closest location to you. An appointment must be made, there is no “walk-in” service available for fingerprinting.
NOTE REGARDING FINGERPRINTS: Application must be made on-line, or if using a paper application, receipt of an acknowledgement that the application has been processed must be received by the applicant PRIOR to having your fingerprints taken.
Concealed Handgun License Requirements
Please be sure that you meet the following requirements prior to enrolling in the course:
- A legal resident of Texas
- 21 years of age and legally able to purchase a handgun under the Brady Bill
- Have not been convicted of a felony in any state
- Have NO convictions of Class A or B misdemeanors in the last 5 years
- Are NOT subject to a restraining or protective order
- Are NOT delinquent in the payment of taxes, child support or any other fees levied and collected by the State
- Are NOT chemically dependent or of unsound mind
What you need to bring to class:
- Firearm (unloaded) in good working condition; 32 caliber or greater
- Minimum fifty (50) rounds of ammunition
Firearms rentals and ammunition for purchase are available at the range.
The proficiency test utilizes a B-27 target and 50 rounds of ammunition. A total of 20 rounds will be fired at 9 feet, 20 rounds fired at 21 feet and 10 rounds fired at 45 feet. A score of 70% is required to pass.
If you believe you will have difficulty passing the proficiency test with a minimum score of 175 out of 250 points, you should consider signing up for basic pistol instruction offered by the range. We provide individualized training and flexible scheduling.
Applying and qualifying for a semi-auto license (SA license) will allow you to carry any type and caliber of handgun. If you qualify with a non-semi-automatic license (NSA license) such as a revolver, you will not be able to legally carry a semi-automatic firearm. We advise qualifying with a semi-automatic in order to be able to carry both types of firearm. A semi-automatic can be rented at the range for qualification on the day of the course.
For more information on Texas Concealed Handgun Licenses
Contact The Shooting Gallery
to schedule a lesson or register for your CHL training.